Raspbian is overrated (or Why Lubuntu rocks)

Hello all.

One of my very old posts was based on my nascent interaction with Raspbian, the most popular distro that people generally install on their Raspberry Pi the first time around.

Now its no secret that Raspbian is very kludgy. The version that I was running on was based on Debian Wheezy, so I can’t vouch for what upgrades and fixes (Rasbian related) Jessie might have brought to the table.

I guess its more of a personal preference, but the Raspbian (Wheezy) felt very outdated and slow for my needs. And it came installed with Scratch and Mathematica, but not python GPIO libraries. Go figure.

But after experimenting on the Pi2 for a while, it suddenly dawned on me, that why a long time Ubuntu user like me, is not using Lubuntu on this board instead? One of my friends runs his old Pentium 4 on it, and its pretty smooth. I didn’t even hate using his desktop for some Arduino programming, until its UPS died and I had to switch to another system :p

So I decided to wipe and install Lubuntu 16.04 on my microSD for Pi2, and it didn’t disappoint me at all. The performance is good, browsers work without any hacks or lags, and best of all, I get an environment that I am very familiar with.

I would personally recommend it for all Pi2 hobbyists out there.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

