Github down? Fixed.

Past few days, my internet was sort of down (ping was 2600ms!!!). Today, while it got fixed, I found out that I couldn’t access Github.
A simple fix did the trick. What I did was just changed my DNS servers to Google’s DNS servers, and everything was back to normal again.

Steps (on linux)-

1. Open a terminal & type –

sudo gedit /etc/resolvconf/resolv.conf.d/head  

I use gedit. You can replace it with the editor of your choice. For example, a nano user may write –
sudo nano /etc/resolvconf/resolv.conf.d/head

2. put your nameserver list in –

nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 8.8.4.4

3. Then run-

resolvconf -u

4. Try github.com and confirm if it works.

There is a similar setup in Windows.

1. Just goto Network Places

2. Change Adapter Settings (left sidebar)

3. select your Internet network and right click and select Properties

4. select IPv4 and click Properties

5. Change the fields for DNS server #1 and #2 to “8.8.8.8” and “8.8.4.4” respectively.

I am not sure if it is region related or ISP (MTNL in my case), but changing your DNS to Google’s is anyway a good option.

Leave a Reply

